Skip to content

Is There Link Juice in Facebook?

12/07/2009

Am I getting link juice from my business’s Facebook page? Well, I have to admit that I do not test things nearly as much as I should. I’m more of a creative type, and keeping track of things, testing them, and playing detective and scientist to see what impact one link has on my SEO is such a daunting task that I just don’t do it much.

But a while back I read a post about link juice passing from Facebook and, always looking for another quality link for my clients, I tried it on my Bald Mountain Press Facebook Page. If you want to learn how to put links on your page using FBML (Facebook Markup Language), go read the post linked above.

As to how this has helped me, well it’s hard to tell. My BMP page on FB is relatively new. Even the Google PageRank prediction tools won’t venture a guess. I haven’t created many links to the page, but the piggy-back PageRank from FB alone should be enough to rate the page a two or three… And that will be juice passed along, because using FBML has allowed me to create links that are followed.

While I am lazy about testing, I can verify that it is a followed link by going to my Google Webmaster tools, and looking at the sites that link to my Bald Mt. Press site, and sure enough, there’s my http://www.facebook.com URL passing along the juice. A check of links to all the other sites I’ve linked to from within the FBML box shows that they’re all getting it. And after I made that box, a few clients did move up a couple of notches, but that could have been other factors. Hard to tell.

Of course, Facebook will probably find this loophole and close it, so I wouldn’t spend too much time on it. But this does bring up the question of how valuable social media marketing is. Is a small business like mine or my clients’ going to double their business because they got a Facebook page? No. But will they entice the linkerati (bloggers, webmasters, and others who have the power to create links) to link to them? Maybe. Depends on who their friends are on these sites. Will they get a few clicks they wouldn’t have otherwise gotten? Over time, of course.

But there is one little advantage that having a Facebook page, or a presence on any other social networking or bookmarking site, can give you: internal search results. Again, because my page is new, I’m not coming up on the search terms I like in a Facebook search (like “get higher search engine ranks“). I’m also still learning what kind of SEO the Facebook search engine likes to see. It’s new and not that good, so I have to settle for just working with name recognition now. At least that has been a success. If you search for “Bald Mountain Press” in the Facebook search, the BMP page comes right up. And that can be a big advantage for small businesses.

Say, for example, you’re into Maui Hawaii weddings, like my friend and client Klaus, who is a big fan of the Facebook. He made a Maui weddings page titled “Maui weddings”, which as of today has 13 fans. When I search FB for “Maui weddings” he comes up first, and it looks like the results are being ordered based on the number of fans each page has. As Facebook usage expands, and more and more people use the FB search engine, Klaus will get more traffic, more links, and more business through his Facebook page.

Note to Klaus: use the FBML to make a side box with links to your sites!

No matter how small your business, you can benefit from this. It only takes a few minutes, and it gets you up there in the Facebook search results, if only on a search for you business name. And it’s only going to get bigger, so, sure, spend a few minutes. Make a Facebook page for your business, and throw a little FBML box on there for some future link juice. Couldn’t hurt.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 02/10/2010 3:54 pm

    I sneaked a quick peak at your web site and I find it very attention-grabbing, very informative. Thanks!

  2. 12/30/2009 11:06 pm

    Up to this point I have been only using a Myspace page to promote my website, however after reading this I think I might just join the facebook nation, thanks for the info.

    Get Free Marketing Ebooks at Internet Marketing Revealed

  3. Jerome Joffe permalink
    12/09/2009 11:57 am

    Very helpful information that is easy to understand. Thanks!

  4. 12/09/2009 2:50 am

    Thanks the blog is superb .. needed some information on no follow and pr juice .. i think got something effective

Leave a Reply

