Skip to content

Don’t Count on Karma

09/01/2010
Hiking trail in Polipoli State Park, Maui, Hawaii

Polipoli State Park, Maui, Hawaii

I’m lazy. But when it comes to publicizing sites, I still do the work. Because I know that I can’t count on the other lazy people on the internet to do my work for me, even when the cause is a good one.

A good cause works as link bait, for sure. For example, a site I built about volunteering on vacation in Hawaii offers something for every one: a chance to do good for the state of Hawaii, a chance to save on lodging on the island of Maui, a chance for good organizations to recruit volunteers, and a chance for tourists to learn something about Hawaii they could never learn on a tour bus. The site has gotten some links on the merits of its case. But not as many as one would think.

So, I keep working at it. In order for link bait to work, people have to hear about it. So when I see a story about volunteering while on vacation somewhere, I pop into the comments and post a link so the vacation volunteer enthusiasts will see it, and maybe one of them will link to it some day. This method has managed to work a little, but still not enough.

At this point, lazy ol’ me is getting tired of begging for links, so I go to the tried and true method for link building: my email address book. Over the years, I’ve managed to rack up a lot of contacts from Hawaii, due to my fascination with Hawaii Stuff. From the email I managed to find bloggers, webmasters, and other folks who are more than happy to swap links with a site about volunteering on vacation in Hawaii.

Emailing for links is slow and hard work, and the client in this case can’t afford to have me toiling away in the email caverns for long, so I’m going to turn it over to her to get those emails out to former guests of her Maui bed and breakfast, and all her other many contacts, especially on Maui, where, because she’s lived there for years, she has more friends with Hawaii web sites than I’ll ever have.

I expect this to work well, as she needs to do more work herself to save money, she has more relevant contacts than I do, and, well, I’m lazy!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 09/16/2011 8:39 am

    Interesting read again Scott !!!

  2. 09/01/2010 11:24 am

    If I write a post that goes “viral” I usually see the email as my refferring sites in my analytics. The 2nd referring site is usually a forum.

    But if I post a great story to Digg or Stumbleupon, it can almost crash my servers.

Leave a Reply

