Skip to content

Link with Your Clients and Suppliers

07/05/2010
Fruit carving in Los Angeles by Chef Ray

Fruit carving in Los Angeles by Chef Ray

Sometimes I forget the obvious. When Google’s caffeine update went completely into effect, my Los Angeles catering client slipped a few notches. My initial reaction to slips is to immediately build more links to the site using the keywords in question as the anchor text. From what I’ve read of caffeine, I expected to get killed on that search because I didn’t have all the keywords in the URL. But I was hoping that the authority of our site would hold up, and that the better understanding google now has of related words and synonyms would help a copy-heavy site like this one, especially in the long-tail area.

And I was right.

Almost as soon as we started the latest link building campaign, I started linking from within blog posts on Backstage w/ Supak, my more political blog that’s been around a long time now and has a PR5 and some serious authority due to it’s age. I made more prominent links on Supak.com, which also has a PR5 and has been around since 1996. That helped, and within weeks we had the catering site moving up a few notches.

Then I told the client what I should have said a long time ago: link with clients and suppliers. Both have jumped on the chance to exchange links with Culinary Delight Catering, and because the subject matter–especially from the suppliers–is so closely related and now even better understood by the Google Bot, we’ve moved up some more. And the mass email my client sent out to her clients and suppliers is still generating leads for links not just for her site, but for mine as well!

Let this be  a lesson that the only way to get links from friends of friends is to have friends ask for links from their friends. And, also, to trust in the wisdom of the Google Bot and keep creating fresh content (even caterers have something to blog about) and keep on linkin’!

One Comment leave one →
  1. 07/20/2013 12:54 pm

    I’ve learn some excellent stuff here. Definitely value bookmarking for revisiting. I surprise how a lot effort you set to make such a excellent informative site.

Leave a Reply

